Day: January 7, 2020

Routine traffic stop

What You Should Know if Stopped for Suspicion of DUI in Georgia

What You Should Know if Stopped for Suspicion of DUI in Georgia Drinking and driving is dangerous and has serious consequences for a driver if arrested and convicted.  Unfortunately, many drivers are charged with DUI even though they are not impaired.  In fact, some cities require officers to make a specific number of DUI arrests …

What You Should Know if Stopped for Suspicion of DUI in Georgia Read More »

DUI Sign

DUI Penalties in Georgia

DUI Penalties in Georgia If you are convicted of DUI, you could be subject to the following penalties under Georgia law: 1st OFFENSE Jail Time: 24 hours to 1 year Fines: Minimum $300, Maximum $1,000 Minimum $200 for license reinstatement License Suspension: Minimum 120 days, up to 1 year Community Service: Minimum of 40 hours Mandatory Programs: Risk Reduction …

DUI Penalties in Georgia Read More »

DUI or DWI

DUI or DWI in Georgia

DUI or DWI in Georgia If you are convicted of DUI/DWI and plead “guilty” or “nolo contendere,” that conviction will forever remain not only on your driving record, but also on your criminal history. These records will be reported to the Georgia Department of Public Safety, to the National Driver’s License Registry, to the GBI …

DUI or DWI in Georgia Read More »

Texting and driving

Using Electronic Devices While Driving in Georgia

Using Electronic Devices While Driving in Georgia Using electronic devices while driving in Georgia: Effective July 1, 2010, a new Georgia law prohibits all drivers from using cell phones, laptops, and other electronic devices for text messaging, sending instant messages, e-mails or accessing the Internet while driving a motor vehicle. Additionally, the law forbids drivers …

Using Electronic Devices While Driving in Georgia Read More »